“When you play, play hard. When you work, don’t play.”  Leonard (Barney) Gordon

There is a subject matter that I find to be an urgent message briefly discussed in ‘The Seminar’ book. It is related to the book’s discussion of Priorities. Before I explain, I want to tell you a story about a man I knew, respected, loved, and quoted above. Leonard Gordon (Barney), of blessed memory, was my Father-in-law. He gave me an opportunity to go to work in the construction industry that I have worked in for over forty years. Barney was a big, strong, man and a tower of power in my eyes. He worked his way up from the bottom to becoming a department manager for a national construction company and manufacturer of many national construction materials. He became loved and hated by his competitors because he was so good at what he did in the industry. He also loved and received love from his wife (Louise of blessed memory), his daughters, (Kathie and Suzy), his grand-children (Heather and Marcus), and yours truly.

It was most likely politics that eventually got him terminated from this national company. Even though he and another former administrative employee from that company founded their own construction company, it was the beginning of the end for Barney. Their own company had great potential and promise but Barney never really recuperated from the shock of his termination at a company where he worked for so many years. He slowly began to forget things, repeated himself, and wound up having a nervous breakdown. Finally he passed away while spending his final time in an institution for the mentally challenged.

I suspect that right now, with all of the downsizing and companies going belly-up, there might be many others going through the mental anguish of losing their jobs. Many of us employees or former employees have taken great pride in what we have done to earn a living, like Barney. For some, their jobs become their identity and if and when that is taken away, it’s as though the greatest part of them is lost. Of course, the masses need employment. Respect and efforts should be shown for their jobs. But maybe a ‘Plan B’ should always be available since nothing in life is permanent, not even life itself.

Know that your health, your families, and all of your loved ones are more important than your jobs. They need you and they want you. I could end this with don’t worry, be happy and I honestly feel that way, but I know from my own personal experiences, changing jobs, lifestyles, or anything for that matter is not so easy. Or, maybe it is.

Please send me your comments on this sensitive subject.

Until the next time, I’ll see you at ‘The Seminar’ on the ‘Passageways to Riches’TM

